Tunisia Tourist visas

What Is a Tourist Visa for Tunisia?

The Tunisia Tourist Visa is an electronic travel authorization that will be available later this year. The online application will save travelers the hassle of going to an embassy or consulate to apply in person for a visa.

The application for the Tourist Visa for Tunisia will only take a matter of minutes to complete and will require applicants to enter some information such as their name, address, date of birth, and passport details.

Once the application has been submitted and approved, the visa will be sent to the applicant by email. Travelers can present the Tunisia Tourist Visa, along with their passport, to the border authorities to gain entry.

Which Countries Need a Tourist Visa for Tunisia?

Travelers from most countries in the world require a visa to visit Tunisia. These nations are listed below by continent.

Countries Included in the Tunisia eVisa Program

American Countries

Citizens from the following American countries need to procure a tourist visa to visit Tunisia:

  • The Bahamas
  • Belize
  • Bolivia
  • Colombia
  • Cuba
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Jamaica
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Puerto Rico
  • Suriname
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Uruguay
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Venezuela

Citizens of Europe

The European countries whose citizens cannot travel visa-free are:

  • Albania
  • Cyprus

African Countries

Citizens of the following countries in Africa require a visa to enter Tunisia:

  • Botswana
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Republic of the Congo
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Djibouti
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini (Swaziland)
  • Ethiopia
  • Ghana
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • São Tomé and Príncipe
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Citizens of Asia

Citizens of the following Asian countries require a tourist visa for Tunisia:

  • Afghanistan
  • Armenia
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Cambodia
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Myanmar (Burma)
  • Mongolia
  • Nepal
  • North Korea
  • Pakistan
  • Palestine
  • The Philippines
  • Syria
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen

Nationalities from Oceania

Citizens of these sovereign states of Oceania must have a tourist visa to enter Tunisia:

  • Marshall Islands
  • Micronesia
  • Nauru
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu

Citizens with a Special Hotel Voucher

In addition, citizens of the following 10 countries will also require a visa unless they are traveling as part of an organized tour or have a special hotel voucher:

  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Georgia
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Macao
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkmenistan
  • Ukraine
  • Uzbekistan

Who Can Enter Tunisia Visa-Free?

Citizens of any EU country apart from Cyprus may enter Tunisia visa-free.

Most nationalities are permitted to stay for up to 90 days, after which a visa must be acquired to remain in the country. Exceptions include German citizens (up to 4 months), Bulgarian nationals (2 months), and Greek nationals (1 month).

Other nationalities who can enter Tunisia without a tourist visa include:

  • Algeria
  • Andorra
  • Angola
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahrain
  • Barbados
  • Benin
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • China
  • Comoros
  • Costa Rica
  • Cote d’Ivoire
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Guinea
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Hong Kong
  • Honduras
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kiribati
  • South Korea
  • Kuwait
  • Libya
  • Liechtenstein
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Namibia
  • New Zealand
  • Niger
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Qatar
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • San Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • South Africa
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Vatican City

Other Visas for Tunisia

At the moment it is necessary to go to an embassy or consulate to obtain a visa for Tunisia. There is currently no electronic type of visa for Tunisia but the online Tourist Visa for travelers visiting Tunisia will become available later this year.

Unless you are from a country which is eligible for visa-free entry, it is currently necessary to obtain a traditional visa in person before you travel.

How to Apply For a Tunisian Tourist Visa

Until the Tunisian eVisa becomes available, visitors who need a Tourist Visa for Tunisia must go to a Tunisian embassy and complete the visa application form. It is necessary to have a passport that will be valid for at least 6 months.

Once the electronic visa becomes available, applications can be made via this website. Keep checking this page for updated information on the availability of the online visa for Tunisia.

Tunisia Tourist Visa Fee

The Tunisia tourist eVisa fee has not yet been announced and will be published on this website once available.

If you are planning a trip to Tunisia, remember to check this website regularly for up-to-date information regarding the Tunisia Tourist Visa.

tunisia tourist visas